Issue details

Proposal to amalgamate Seaton Sluice Middle and Whytrig Middle Schools on an Existing Site

This report sets out a proposal to amalagamate Seaton Sluice Middle School and Whytrig Middle School in new shared buildings with Astley Community High School, necessitating the formal closure of Seaton Sluice Middle School. This proposal has been put forward by the federated Governing Body of the Seaton Valley Federation which governs all 3 schools. This proposal has arisen as an extension of the project to reprovide new buildings for Astley Community High School and Whytrig Middle School on their current site, these two schools already being co-located in Seaton Delaval. The initial project was limited to the reprovision of new buildings for Astley High School and Whytrig Middle school; however the Governing Body has identified a number of educational and financial reasons why it would be beneficial for all students within the Seaton Valley Federation to be co-located on one site, which are outlined in the report. Therefore, the Governing Body has requested the Council to undertake the required consultation on the amalgamation of Seaton Sluice Middle School with Whytrig Middle School.

Under the proposal, as Seaton Sluice Middle School would effectively close, it falls within the requirements of The School Organisation (Establishment and Discontinuance of Schools) Regulations 2013 which requires that statutory consultation be undertaken. While the proposal to provide new buildings on the current Astley High School site itself does not require a statutory process to be undertaken, it is following a separate process to gain the necessary Cabinet approvals. This report is therefore limited to a request for approval from Cabinet to begin formal consultation on the relocation of Seaton Sluice Middle School.

Decision type: Key

Decision status: For Determination

Wards affected: Seghill with Seaton Delaval;

Notice of proposed decision first published: 13/09/2021

Relevant O&S Ctte: Family and Children's Services OSC;

Decision due: 12 Oct 2021 by Cabinet

Lead member: Councillor Guy Renner-Thompson, Portfolio Holder for Children and Young People

Contact: Sue Aviston, Head of School Organisation and Resources Email: